Home > Beer > Beer In Amsterdam: Schuim

Beer In Amsterdam: Schuim

After leaving The Cracked Kettle, perhaps unsurprisingly I felt it was time for a beer.  I’d happily missed dinner in the hotel for the sake of this expedition so also needed to line my stomach.  I had passed Schuim (“Foam”) on Spuistraat and it looked like a nice arty cafe.  When I saw that Tim Skelton said it did good hamburgers in my newly-purchased Around Amsterdam In 80 Beers I decided to go for it.

The inside of Schuim is a reasonably large, high-ceilinged space with a selection of different furniture: big tables, leather armchairs, intimate tables for two with attractive lampshades hanging over them.  The walls were covered in a selection of classic cinema posters and there was a DJ booth in the corner.  This sunny Friday evening there a lot of customers were sitting out, smoking and chatting, so there were some free seats inside between some groups of apparently happy, relaxed drinkers.

It didn’t have a huge selection of beers when I went in (although they did have Brewdog Hardcore IPA), they have La Chouffe on tap.  I got a 25cl glass, ordered a burger and sat down at one of the big tables and started properly reading up on Amsterdam’s beer bars.  I enjoyed the La Chouffe, which proved very drinkable, but perhaps less interesting than the bottles I remembered.

I finished it and ordered a Blanche De Namur, a witbier that was served from tap with a slice of lemon and a pink plastic cocktail stirrer, the latter of which confused me.  I’m not a huge fan of witbiers generally but this was quite pleasant and the slice of lemon either complemented the fresh lemon flavour of the beer or caused it.  I didn’t have a non-lemon control beer to compare.

Whilst I was enjoying the beer, the atmosphere and the book, I was getting hungry and my burger was taking a very long time indeed.  When I asked the staff they apologised and explained that a large table had ordered just before me, which they had said at the time.  However I was given a free pilsner (I think it was a Leeuw in a Budels glass – nice but nothing special), and then after another 15 minutes the chef brought me out a plate of cheese, pickles and mustard and apologised for the delay.  They were very polite and helpful despite the delay and I remained in a good mood as a result.

When the burger finally came it was very nice indeed: tender, tasty, moist and crumbly, just like a good homemade burger should be.  I wolfed it down, dipping the chips in lots of mayonnaise to emphasise how acclimatised I was becoming.

I enjoyed Schuim and felt very happy to sit there on my own and pass the time, but by this point I was keen to move on to somewhere with a bigger selection.  In particular I’d been reading about a bar just around the corner that sounded very exciting indeed: a US craft beer bar called Beer Temple, on which more next time.

  1. May 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Nice to see a restaurant offering freebies to customers who’ve had to wait a bit too long, it’s something less places seem to do nowadays. A little thought and courtesy goes a long way in my book.

    Sounds like you had a good time in Amsterdam mate, but when’s the blog post about hookers and weed coming?

    • May 25, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      I’m not Snoop Dogg, Neil. Seriously though, it’s a really great city if you bypass the usual tourist/stag nonsense. Just wish I’d had more time. The next two posts will deal with a couple of really fantastic bars.

  2. Broadfordbrewer
    May 26, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Pink plastic cocktail stirrers should not be used in any beer, what were they thinking with that? Otherwise, it sounds like a perfectly enjoyable drink and bite to eat. Polite friendly staff who acknowledge a delayed order and bring you complimentary nibbles and beer should be the norm! but sadly I have only read of such deeds.

  1. May 27, 2011 at 8:42 am

Leave a Reply

