Home > Beer > Summer Wine On Keg: 7Cs IPA

Summer Wine On Keg: 7Cs IPA

Being interested in new things doesn’t mean that you think old things should cease to exist.  It is possible to enjoy both a roast dinner and molecular gastronomy; to admire both Michelangelo and Picasso.  But if you have any real interest or passion on any subject, you will naturally be interested in exploring, if not mere novelty, then certainly variety and innovation.

James and Andy from Summer Wine Brewery are interested in innovation.  Their many plans for the next few months involve four different saisons, which will appear in keg and bottle only “as we feel saison as a style is best suited to an elevated level of carbonation to bring out that zesty, spicy, estery freshness“.

Their desire to choose the best tool for the job, from ingredients through to the method of dispense, is also reflected in their first (unfiltered, unpasteurised) keg beer: 7 Cs IPA, which debuted at the bar at Mr Foleys yesterday evening, on their new dedicated UK craft keg tap.  Doubtless to the disappointment of many Queen fans, 7Cs isn’t a rye beer.  Instead it’s a style very much suited to keg dispense: a big, bitter, hoppy IPA with (in a UK context) a relatively high ABV of 7%.  The name refers to the seven C-hops it’s made from: *deep breath* Columbus, Centennial, Chinook, Citra, Cascade, Crystal and Cluster.

The beer was a great one to have after work on this hot Friday evening: cool, pale, fresh and solidly, pleasantly bitter. It was on the bar next to O’Dell IPA on keg, one of my all-time favourite beers.  I was happy to keep alternating between the two: the O’Dell providing the rounded mango sweetness and the 7 Cs holding its own with its bitter hit.

The beer was actually served from a corny keg, although in future Summer Wine will be using real, no wait, actual kegs.  Mr Foleys will also have one of their Nerotype black IPAs on keg, and have some cask 7Cs in the cellar for comparison.  As I mentioned previously, the imported bottled selection also continues to improve whilst remaining reasonably priced and their cask range remains unbeaten in Leeds.

I want variety and novelty.  Pubs like Mr Foleys and breweries like Summer Wine continue to interest and excite because of variety and novelty.  They provide the possibility that your next beer could well be different to anything you’ve ever had, or might even the best you’ve ever tried.  And that is a good thing.

I should also say thanks to Dean for being an excellent host once again, and to Andy from Summer Wine, Leigh from The Good Stuff, Neil from Eating Isn’t Cheating, Tom and Ol from Roosters, Mr Foley’s chef and new beer blogger Tyler,  Adam, Mark from North Bar and Sir Zak Avery for a night of fun, if increasingly drunken banter.

Categories: Beer Tags: , , , , ,
  1. Tyler
    June 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Very nice piece on the launch there Sir Nick! Thanks for the lil mention at the bottom of the blog. These are exciting time to be a beer geek in good ole Leeds!

    • June 5, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Indeed, good to meet you man. See you again soon!

  2. June 4, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Sounds very good, I wish I could have made it down! big fail on the pump clip though…

    • June 5, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      There’ll be more opportunities, I imagine. I can’t wait to try some keg Diablo, which I assume James and Andy must be considering, although I forgot to ask.

  3. June 5, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Sounds really good and nice post! I want to drink more of their beers and hope to get some of the saison series as it’s a beer style I really like. I just wish they’d lose the apostrophe from C’s!

    • June 5, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      That apostrophe’s up for debate, I think. I think it’s like the apostrophe a lot of people put in “CD’s” which, although I don’t really like it, is becoming common usage.

      The flavours of the saisons sound great; I really fancy the nettle and ginger one.

  4. June 5, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Man, I was really quite drunk. Why did we go into the cellar? Why were you tapping that beer? I tried to explain to Louise, but couldn’t justify why we were in there…

    • June 5, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      I don’t know exactly why we were in there: I think Dean was showing Andy the setup maybe? I just followed. Dean suggested I tap the beer because although I worked in bars I’d never tapped a cask before, just changed kegs. Made a right shamozzle of it too, if I recall.

      Next time I’m taking Tyler up on his suggestion of a Philly cheesesteak before we start on the hard stuff.

  5. June 8, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Sounds like I missed a right pissup!

    I’d promised the missus I’d take her out for dinner. Hence my overly swift exit, hope I wasn’t thought rude.

  6. June 8, 2011 at 10:54 am

    p.s. the rosemary and orange sounds like its going to be my favourite one of the bunch. imagine that with some greek lamb! bliss

  1. July 31, 2011 at 8:04 pm
  2. December 28, 2011 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

