Home > Beer > #IPADay at Mr Foley’s: Is Double RyePA the New Citra?

#IPADay at Mr Foley’s: Is Double RyePA the New Citra?

If I only got to drink one style of beer for the rest of my life it would be India Pale Ale.  I think that’s probably the case for a lot of beer bloggers.  It certainly seems to be the beer that geeks are made of, at least in its US incarnation.  The IPA that got me really excited was a British-made but US-influenced IPA, Thornbridge Jaipur, and it’s gratifying to see that it was also a watershed beer for Kelly Ryan who brewed it for some years.

In case you haven’t noticed, Thursday 4 August 2011 is International IPA Day, details of which are here.  Pubs and breweries in a number of countries will be staging events and David @broadfordbrewer Bishop pulls together details of events at The Sparrow in Bradford, The Grove in Huddersfield and Mr Foleys in Leeds here.

As for myself, I’m very much looking forward to attending Mr Foleys, where they’ll not only have an amazing range of IPAs but also a choice of two curries from Leeds’ most exciting secret curry ninjas Manjit’s Kitchen.  There will be brewers or representatives from many of the breweries whose beers will be on and also talks from Zak Avery and Mark Fletcher of this cyberparish.

I think the range of beer is incredibly exciting, as previously set out on Neil’s blog and lazily copied and pasted here.  Please note that it may be subject to minor changes:

KEG

Magic Rock ‘Human Cannonball’ 9.2% £5.50/£2.75
Summer Wine ‘7C’s of Rye’ 7% £3.20/1.60
Brewdog ‘Hardcore IPA’ 9.2% £5.00/£2.50
Brewdog ‘Hello, My Name Is Ingrid’ 8.5% £5.00/£2.50

CASK

Thornbridge ‘Germinus’ 8.5% £3.50/£1.75
Buxton ‘Axe Edge’ 6.8% £3.30/£1.65
Kirkstall ‘Dissolution IPA’ 5% £3.00/£1.50
Roosters ‘Underdog IPA’ 5% £3.00/£1.50
Red Willow ‘Peerless’ 5.2% £3.00/£1.50
Hardknott ‘Code Black’ 5.6% £3.10/£1.55

BOTTLES & CANS

Odell ‘Myrcenary IPA’ 8.5% £5.50
Odell ‘IPA’ 7% £4.20
Stone ‘Cali-Belgique 2010’ 6.9% £6.00
Victory ‘Hop Devil’ 6.7% £4.00
Victory ‘Hop Wallop’ 8.5% £5.00
Dogfish Head ‘90 Minute IPA’ 9% £6.00
Sierra Nevada ‘Torpedo’ 7.2% £3.80
Maui ‘Big Swell IPA’ £4.30
Goose Island ‘IPA’ 5.9% £3.30
Brewdog AB:06 11.5% £15.00
Brewdog ‘Punk IPA 5.6% £3.40
Brewdog ‘Hardcore IPA’ 9.2% £4.50
Red Willow ‘Ageless Double IPA’ 7.2% £4.00

Dean asked me to write something recommending a beer for the menu, but I found it impossible to pick a favourite from such a great selection.  Of those I’ve had, my all-time favourite is probably O’Dell IPA, although I had the Myrcenary last week and it was great, and I love Torpedo, and… and…  So, instead I decided to recommend Goose Island IPA, (an excellent beer but not an extreme example or an exciting rarity like some of the rest) as a good introduction to the style.

On the day however, I know I’ll be focusing on the exciting range of keg and cask beers I haven’t tried before.  The Summer Wine 7Cs of Rye should be an interesting experiment, a rye version of one of the most exhilaratingly uncompromising British IPAs.  Given how good Magic Rock Cannonball is, I can’t wait to try Human Cannonball.  BrewDog My Name Is Ingrid should be a fascinating beer, a double IPA made with  Citra, Nelson Sauvin and Bramling Cross hops and fresh Scandinavian cloudberries! I don’t even know what a cloudberry is, but so long as it’s not a Viz-style pun, they sound great.

As for  the cask I haven’t tried, there’s a black IPA from Hardknott and an exciting new beer that might indicate what course the Fozard lads might be plotting with the good ship Roosters when Sean Franklin hands them the helm shortly.  There’s also a double rye PA from Thornbridge (which should really be called “Raipur”, as The Beer Monkey suggested), which is the second brand new strong rye IPA on the list: perhaps this is an indication of the next big thing? Is Double RyePA the new Black IPA, the new Citra or even (*whisper it*) the new Saison?

Seriously though, I very much doubt I’ll get through all those new beers in one sitting, but I should also say that all of those other beers which I’ve tried before are actually genuinely great, not a duff one between them: RedWillow, Buxton, Maui, Victory, Stone

I am beginning to suspect that IPA may in fact be the only beer style I drink before I die, but not in the manner intended.  I’m just putting a lot of trust in the curry and thanking my lucky stars I won’t have spent the previous few days at the Great British Beer Festival, so I’ll be fighting fit.  Unlike some of you lot.
Categories: Beer
  1. July 31, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    This sounds like an absolutely fabulous night, absolutely gutted that we can’t come, GBBF the following morning and an early train already booked. 😦

    I will be celebrating IPADAY though out and about in Stoke if anyone in the area is putting an event on, or if not I’ve purposely compiled a grand selection of IPA’s to trawl through, no doubt paired with some fine cheese.

    Enjoy guys, I’m extremely jealous.. Cheers

    • August 1, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Phil, and thanks for retweeting too. I hope you enjoy GBBF though Phil, I imagine there should be one or two beers of interest there…

  2. August 1, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Really looking forward to this! I’m not going to be at GBBF now either. I was going, then not going, then going, and now im not going again. Just got too much on at work to swan off to a beer festival for two days.

    Your opening line ‘If I only got to drink one style of beer for the rest of my life it would be India Pale Ale.’ is pretty much identical to my opening line from the first draft of my paragraph for deans guide thing. In the end I took it out as my reccomendation was a bit too long but it still rings true. Couldnt agree more.

    I thought it was nice that we all reccomended different beers as well, who would’ve guessed that? I didnt know what everybody else had picked when i wrote mine and just shows that even amongst the ‘beer geeks’ variety is still the spice of life!

    Good post this mate, and cheers for the linkage.

    • August 1, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Excellent, well we can both make up for it on Thursday then. GBBF will happen again next year, although it might be more of a hassle getting hotels/trains etc what with the Olympics. That’s caused a bit of grumbling, understandably.

  3. August 1, 2011 at 9:24 am

    “If I only got to drink one style of beer for the rest of my life it would be India Pale Ale.”

    What kind of IPA though?

    • August 1, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Good question. I agree with the inference that it’s a very broad style, and with BIPA, Rye PA and so on it might really be straining the edges of credulity.

      Basically I could cope with restricting myself to New World-hopped and actually pale IPAs of about 5-8% ABV, so that would cover O’Dell IPA, SN Torpedo, Goose Island IPA, Victory Hop Devil, Thornbridge Jaipur/Halcyon/Kipling, BrewDog Punk IPA and Summer Wine Diablo. Yes, that would probably do, and I could sacrifice White Shield and the like, higher ABV US IPAs, as well as BIPAs etc for the greater good.

      I would miss stouts and porters though, especially in the winter.

      • August 1, 2011 at 12:32 pm

        What about Viven Imperial IPA, stupendously good?

  4. August 1, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I’ve not had the Viven IPA yet! Hopefully I’ll be able to try some in Bruges.

  1. September 19, 2011 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

