Home > Beer > Grove Is In The Heart: An Afternoon In The Grove, Huddersfield

Grove Is In The Heart: An Afternoon In The Grove, Huddersfield

From the train station, we walk through Huddersfield in the wind and the rain, passing under the ringroad via an unappealing underpass before arriving at The Grove.  We go into the left-hand bar, uncertain of whether this is what locals do, or whether the locals will care, whether there are codes and rules we may be violating.  But the Grove only looks like that type of pub from the outside.  Inside, no-one seems to notice, and in there we meet the familiar, welcoming faces who we have arranged to meet on this Saturday afternoon: the chef (who arranged it), the barman, the not-actually-a-beer-blogger.

Soon others will come – the brewer, the student of brewing, the cynic.  There are other beer geeks here – from Scotland, no less.  Kenny’s down for the football, others have popped over on the train after visiting the big festival in Manchester.  At the bar I speak to a German with a shopping list of English beers half-crossed out in ballpoint pen.

We all pore over the taps, the blackboards and the bottle list.  Each of us is excited by the choice, amazed by the prices, concerned about what we’ll get to try before we reach our limit, or have to go for the last train.  I foresee my own lack of restraint, not enough water, the usual well-meaning but drunken overenthusiasm, the wrong words in the wrong order, “Shit, is that the time?”, and perhaps cold sweat and quiet misery as my body fights overindulgence on the train home.  Still, it could be worse – the unfortunate barman has to go to work this evening.

Fortunately we have limited ourselves to a couple of hours in this place before we go for dinner, a 6pm reservation. This turns out to be wise.  You need a reason to leave The Grove.  So in the meantime we start buying beers, sharing and tasting, talking about them, exchanging news, getting to know people who were Twitter friends – but in reality strangers – until today.

The bar gets dark, the lights go on.  Amongst the astonishing bottle list, the excellent cask ales from as close as West Yorkshire and as far as Kent, the exotic but bargainous keg beers, we are all excited to learn that in the fridges (but not yet on the list) is the new black IPA that we’ve all read about from the excellent new brewery down the road.  We smell it, we taste it and the table’s opinion changes.  A good first impression from the nose shifts as the beer reveals itself to be – whilst fruity – also unexpectedly roasted, smokey and liquoricey.

What is the purpose of a black IPA and does this deliver?  The consensus is probably not – the malt is too dominant.  You couldn’t trick a blindfolded beer geek into thinking it might be a pale beer (the Turing Test of black IPAs; not that you’d actually want to).  Other black IPAs are hurriedly purchased for comparison – one from the Peak District, another from underneath a railway arch in South London.  The London version smells and tastes of Starburst.  It’s everyone’s favourite.  Is the new, local beer miscategorised?  I think it’s an interesting beer in its own right; but no, it’s not a new favourite. Not yet, anyway.

After two and a half hours we leave for the restaurant, only a little late.  For all the strong beers I’m doing pretty well, but can see that tipping point wasn’t far off.  I’m happy and enthusiastic about the pub and the company, old friends and new friends. Overenthusiastic, maybe – like I said, that happens when I’ve had a couple of drinks in good company.  But even in the morning I’m smiling.  Until I remember that I forgot to buy a carry-out.

Categories: Beer Tags: , ,
  1. January 24, 2012 at 9:09 am

    Lovely stuff Nick and I’m surprised this was your first visit, I just make the assumption that I’m the last to do anything in this world of geek 🙂
    Despite my best intentions and arriving at 7pm, I still succumbed to The Grove, the ever so slightly evil temptress. The choice is overwhelming and the prices too accommodating. A recipe for a small scale beer geek melt down. When I forced my eyes open at 10am Sunday morning, I was glad I hadn’t bought a carry out. Ready for another beer now though 😉

    • January 24, 2012 at 9:13 am

      I think it was my second, but the first was a long time ago before I’d started the blog or really knew any of you lot!

  2. January 24, 2012 at 9:23 am

    The rabble.

  3. January 24, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Good to hear more opinion on the Magic 8 Ball. Your description more or less mirrors my experience although I have to confess I wasn’t keen. The smoked quality in it was very pronounced and totally unexpected after the reviews that concentrated on juicy tropical fruit. Another exercise in the subjectivity of flavour I guess. Nice review tho, The Grove is a real gem, wish I could get out that way more often.

    • January 24, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      It’s an interesting one and will probably divide people. When I reviewed a bunch of Black IPAs against each other I enjoyed those that had a slight dry roastiness to the taste and maybe a little coffee. They would mostly have failed the blindfold test too, but yes, the smokiness in this and the liquorice took it too far away from what I was expecting for me to enjoy it. It’s very possible that I might be able to appreciate it better on a second tasting.

  4. ChrisM
    January 24, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Best pub in the world. Only been in twice, managed a couple of hours last Sunday. Wish it wasn’t so far away!!

  5. January 25, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    What a cracking bit of prose.

  6. Beer Talk
    January 25, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Very nice story. Shame I live so far from Huddersfield – I must make an effort to get up there and pay a visit to The Grove. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

