Home > Beer > Beer in Sheffield: The Rutland Arms, 86 Brown St, S1 2BS

Beer in Sheffield: The Rutland Arms, 86 Brown St, S1 2BS

In the spirit of exploring the world on our own doorstep, Kate and I spent two days in Sheffield to celebrate my 32nd birthday.  Sheffield’s beer and pubs have changed massively since I graduated from the university in 2004, although the seeds of that were already evident in Dave Wickett’s Fat Cat pub and Kelham Island Brewery, of which more in a later post.

The Rutland Arms is a pub I had never visited or had even heard of when  I was a student in Sheffield.  Now it seems like a traditional pub but with a studenty/indie feel, a good jukebox and an exciting range of beers, including some from the relatively new, and related, Blue Bee Brewery.

It’s not far from the station (walk up from the station and take the first left after the Showroom Cinema) so made for a good first stop off the train  It was a quiet Thursday afternoon, but that meant we almost got the bar to ourselves to stick some Pulp and Richard Hawley on the jukebox for some Sheffield indie nostalgia to set the scene for our break.

I enjoyed a classy fish finger sandwich and chips whilst Kate had a nice halloumi salad.  It being IPA Day, I really enjoyed Dark Star Revelation, perhaps the cask IPA of the moment, and appreciated a dry-hopped version of Blue Bee Tangled Up IPA.

We left the Rutland Arms happier than when we had arrived off the train: relaxed and in the mood to enjoy more of Sheffield.  It’s definitely on the list for our next visit, maybe for the quiz night.

  1. August 5, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Glad you liked the Rutland Mr Quote, I particularly rate the jukebox (Son House and Bauhaus in one sitting) plus the Blue Bee and the excellent snap. And I hope you had chance to visit plenty more pubs whilst in town. Let me know in the unlikely event that you require suggestions for future visits.

    • August 7, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Thanks Mr Beefy, it’s thanks to you and Mr Johnson that I’d even heard of the place.

  2. August 8, 2012 at 8:36 am

    yeah, I like the Rutty. Nice vibe, if I lived locally it’d be a great evening boozer for me. I enjoyed Blue Bee’s beers when I visited; clean, well-brewed and balanced.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

